31 May Yes, Fireworks Are Still Illegal in CA
California, nothing is different this July 4th. Most fireworks that you want to set off yourself, are illegal.
The state categorizes fireworks into “dangerous” and “safe and sane.” Obviously, the “dangerous” ones are the illegal ones. These are the ones where pyrotechnic operators need a license and permit; these are the fireworks that are used in official fireworks shows like at the Rose Bowl, Queen Mary, or over the San Francisco Bay Area. These are the more spectacular fireworks that make thousands of people watch in awe.
The general public,you unless you happen to be a pyrotechnic operator, can sell, purchase, and use the “safe and sane” fireworks. Of course, there are strict rules:
- To sell, one must have a special license and they can only sell between June 28th and July 6th.
- You must be at least 16 years of age to purchase or use these safe and sane fireworks.
Penalties for violating California’s fireworks laws are typically classified as misdemeanors where the defendant faces up to a year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. In cases where they are prosecuted as a felony, it would have involved the movement of large quantities of dangerous fireworks. In this case, the defendant faces up to 3 years in prison and up to a $50,000 fine.
Knowing this, perhaps you are rethinking your desire to play with fireworks. Remember, it ultimately comes down to the safety of yourself and those around you: family, friends, strangers.
Palmdale Bail Bond Store has experience in bailing people out of jail for crimes related to fireworks. We hope to not have to do the same for you or one of your loved ones, but if you do happen to get into that situation, call us first. We will work quickly and will not let you down.