california gun laws tagged posts

California’s Gun Laws FAQ’s

Palmdale Bail Bondsmen

There are very strict rules when it comes to California’s gun laws. These rules outline who is allowed to purchase a gun, when they can purchase, how many and how often they can purchase, how the gun must be stored at home, who may use the gun, when the gun may be used, and more. The gun laws for California are some of the strictest in the United States. Here are some frequently asked questions, and the answers to them.

Can I lend my gun to a family member?
A firearm can be given to a person’s adult child or adult grandchild as long as it is a legal firearm. A firearm can also be given to a person’s spouse. However, a person cannot lend or give the gun to any other relative, such as siblings, aunts and uncles, and cousins...

Read More

California has Gun Storage Laws

call-palmdale-bailbonds

California sets specific rules and laws for gun owners and how their guns are to be stored at home. They cannot just be left lying around! You would think this is common sense, but you would be surprised at how negligent some gun owners can be.


call-palmdale-bail-bonds If gun owners to do not comply with the proper gun storage laws, they can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony if there are minors living in the home with them.


Guns that are poorly stored can fall into the wrong hands, like a young child who reaches for the weapon and accidentally fires it. You have probably heard about real-life incidents such as this in the news at some point, whether or not it was a case that occurred in California or another state.

If a parent stores their loaded firearm in an unlocked drawer that their child c...

Read More

Why You Should Know CA’s Gun Laws

call-palmdale-bailbonds

Would you be surprised if we told you that California has some of the most restrictive gun laws in the United States? Gun control is always a hot subject, and it is one that will never please 100% of the people. The best you can do is educate yourself on the current gun laws in California. Even if you are not a gun-owner, knowing these laws can still be of use to you for your safety and the safety of others. Here are some laws you should know:

  • Background checks are required for anyone wishing to purchase a gun, which also includes a written test.
  • Guns must be purchased through state-licensed dealers.
  • The majority of assault weapons and .50 caliber rifles are illegal.
  • A person may only purchase one handgun per month.
  • There is a 10-day waiting period before a buyer can receive the gun.
  • A...
Read More

Respect Gun Laws, Save Lives

call-pamdale-bailbonds

Even if you have the slightest feeling that your gun-owning friend will use it irresponsibly, you should report him or her to the police. The police will confiscate his or her weapons for 3 weeks, during which time they will investigate and further determine the dangers your friend poses to his or herself, and others. You could be wrong, which would be the best outcome, but if your instincts were right, then you likely saved multiple lives.

This gun seizure is a new California law. Family members and friends of gun owners may report their concerns to the police who must act on these concerns...

Read More

Current Events and Gun Laws

call-palmdale-bailbonds

In the past few weeks, there have been a handful of fatal police-involved shootings that have captured the nation’s attention:

  • The shooting of Alton Sterling, an African American man, by Caucasian police
  • The shooting of Philandro Castile, an African American man, by Caucasian police
  • The shootings of five Caucasian Dallas cops, by an African American man.

Racial tensions, police brutality, and gun laws are once again the headlines of today’s news.

California has some of the most restrictive gun laws in the nation, but that does not mean these sensitive shootings affect us any less. We have an influence on other states, and other states have an influence on us. Not all states have the same gun laws...

Read More

California’s Gun Laws

call-palmdale-bailbonds

As is the trend, being a California gun owner just got more complicated again. To start off, California has some of the most restrictive gun laws in the entire nation. As gun violence and safety is a never-ending debate, there are constantly new laws and legislations being proposed and passed or rejected.

Governor Jerry Brown recently signed 6 bills that regulate the sale of ammunition, further restrict lending guns, ban large-capacity clips, and other things.

The new laws will be added onto the extensive list of existing gun laws, such as:

  • All concealed weapons are banned from college campuses, including those with permits.
  • You must be 18 to buy a long gun and 21 to buy a handgun.
  • You may not buy more than 1 handgun per month.
  • All guns must be safely and securely stored at home.
  • If yo...
Read More

Yet Another Look At Some of California’s Gun Laws

call-palmdale-bail-bonds

We are all still coping from the recent Orlando, FL event that took place at Pulse nightclub where 50 people were killed. This mass murder comes from the guns of a man, guns which he purchased in the days leading up to his attacks. This event prompted yet another look at gun laws, both nationwide and state-wide. California in particular has some of the most restrictive gun laws in the U.S. but, are they enough?

  • Californians must be at least 18 years old to purchase a long gun and they must be at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun.
  • Certain guns are illegal to purchase in California, such as assault weapons. One example: AR-15, the same gun used in the Orlando nightclub shooting.
  • Californians can purchase no more than 1 handgun per month.
  • There is a 10 day waiting period between ap...
Read More